Standings | Schedule | Scoring Leaders | Teams | Location Maps | Links | Admin Downloads | Event Info | Tickets | Sponsors | Contact Us | 
Select seasons >>>
   CRC Senior Men:
  There are no stories within the above selected date range.

Sunday, August 17, 2014 - Submitted by Brendan Munro - BC Rugby Communications
Canadian international Gordon McRorie led the Prairie Wolf Pack (2-0) to their second straight victory over the BC Bears (0-2) with an inspired 20-point performance in round two of the Canadian Rugby Championship (CRC) on Saturday evening. McRorie’s clinical performance saw the scrum half record a try, tacking  on 3 conversions and adding 3 penalties. MrRorie’s only miss came from just inside the halfway line, striking the ball high off the left upright.

The BC Bears, meanwhile, had no answers to McRorie’s outburst, scoring on a lone Bryan Tyrer penalty in the 30-3 loss.

“We decided to play a lot more direct today, and I think we pressurized BC a fair bit,” said Wolfpack coach Graeme Moffat. “McRorie’s box kicking was excellent.”

The Wolfpack had opened up a 14 point lead at the break courtesy of tries from Shea O'Hallahan and Nick Blevins. The Wolfpack continued to push the Bears back in the second half, causing several turnovers and keeping the Bears on the back foot.

With the loss, the BC Bears will have little margin for error against the Ontario Blues and Atlantic Rock in upcoming fixtures.

“This is definitely a big wake up call, said Bears back Sean Ferguson. “We can still turn it around, anything can happen. We have two weeks now to regroup and come up with the next four wins.”

In the opposite locker room, Moffat was happy that his team has put themselves in an excellent position to seize their first Canadian Rugby Championship trophy.

“We’re the only team that has not yet won the MacTier Cup and its driving the guys pretty hard,” said Moffat.

As far as positives go, Ferguson liked the way the Bears continued to push until the end, with the Bears searching hard for a try in the closing minutes.

“I thought some of our forwards played better than last week,” said Bears forward coach Ken Goodland. “I thought we were pretty positive in the first half, aside from a couple dropped balls and mental errors that we thought we were going to fix. I felt in the second half we were inaccurate in the breakdown and lost our shape quite a bit. We just didn’t have the gas to keep our momentum going.”

The Bears next face the Atlantic Rock at North Vancouver’s Klahanie Park, Thu, Sep. 4 at 6:00P PST.

B.C. Bears

1. Noah Barker (James Bay AA)

2. Micha Govorchin (Burnaby Lake RC)

3. Scott MacKay (Burnaby Lake RC)

4. Callum Morrison (UBCOB Ravens)

5. Shea Wakefield (UVic Vikes)

6. Luke Campbell (UVic Vikes)

7. Chase Kelliher (UVic Vikes)

8. Admir Cejvanovic (Burnaby Lake RC)

9. Cody Rockson (Burnaby Lake RC)

10. Bryan Tyrer (UBC Thunderbirds)

11. Adam Zaruba (Capilano RFC)

12. Jeke Gotegote (Burnaby Lake RC)

13. Nathan Yanagiya (Capilano RFC)

14. Caleb Hansen (Vancouver Rowing Club)

15. Sean Ferguson (UBC Thunderbirds)


16. Andrew Lackner (Burnaby Lake RC)

17. Garrett Garbe (UBCOB Ravens)

18. Cody McClary (Port Alberni Black Sheep)

19. Gurvinder Kalar (Burnaby Lake RC)

20. Brock Staller (UBC Thunderbirds)

21. Johnny Morris (Castaway Wanderers RFC)

22. Jorden Sandover-Best (UBC Thunderbirds)

Prairie Wolf Pack
1. Peter Houlihan – Strathcona Druids, Edmonton AB

2. Casey Reed – Calgary Hornets, Airdrie AB

3. James Smith – Shoalhaven, North Nowra, NSW

4. Evan Olmstead – Parramatta Two Blue, Sydney NSW

5. Spencer Massiah – Calgary Hornets, Calgary AB

6. Clayton Panga – Calgary Hornets, Calgary AB

7. Kyle Gilmore (C) – St. Albert RFC, St. Albert AB

8. Jeremy Kyne – Strathcona Druids, Edmonton AB

9. Gordon McRorie – Calgary Hornets, Calgary AB

10. Steven Arnold – Calgary Canucks, Calgary AB

11. Graham Turner – Calgary Hornets, Calgary AB

12. Dustin MacPherson – Calgary Hornets, Calgary AB

13. Nick Blevins – Calgary Hornets, Calgary AB

14. Adam Bontus – St. Albert RFC, St. Albert AB

15. Shea O’Hallan – St. Albert RFC, St. Albert AB

16. Ryan Ackerman – Calgary Saints, Calgary AB

17. Ryan Kotlewski – Calgary Saints, Calgary AB

18. Matt Harrison Assassins Rugby, Winnipeg, MB

19. Ian Houston – Calgary Saints, Calgary AB

20. John Moloney – St. Albert RFC, St. Albert AB

21. James Buchanan – Calgary Hornets, Calgary AB

22. Adam Mcqueen – Calgary Hornets, Calgary AB

23. Brandon Harrison – CCIAC, Cochrane AB

Canadian Rugby Championship Schedule and Results

Aug 9, 6:30pm: CRC BC Bears 10 - 31 Prairie Wolf Pack (Calgary Rugby Park, Alberta)

Aug 16, 7:00pm: CRC Prairie Wolf Pack at 30-3 BC Bears (Apple Bowl, Kelowna)

Sept 4, 5:00pm: CRC Atlantic Rock at BC Bears (Klahanie Park, West Vancouver)

Sept 7, 1:00pm: CRC Ontario Blues at BC Bears (Klahanie Park, West Vancouver)

Sept 18, 8:00pm: CRC BC Bears at Ontario Blues (Guelph University Stadium)

Sept 21, 3:00pm: CRC BC Bears at Atlantic Rock (Swiler’s Rugby Complex, St. John's Newfoundland)

Player Team Points
Cooper Coats 44
Giuseppe De Toit 42
Andrew Ferguson 35
Grant Crowell 25
Sean Ferguson 20
Player Team Tries
Grant Crowell 5
Sean Ferguson 4
Kainoa Lloyd 4
Jake Bentley 3
Dustin Dobravsky 3