Standings | Schedule | Scoring Leaders | Teams | Location Maps | Links | Admin Downloads | Event Info | Tickets | Sponsors | Contact Us | 
Select seasons >>>
   CRC Senior Men:
  There are no stories within the above selected date range.

Friday, August 17, 2012 - Submitted by RC Communications
All eyes will be on the Pacific Tyee when the team makes its CRC debut to open the 2012 on August 18.

The Tyee replaced the BC Bears as British Columbia’s top domestic team over the off season and is prepared to make their inaugural season a victorious one.

Tyee staff drew most of the players from the 2011 BC Bears and formed a who’s who of lethal World Cup and National players for the 2012 squad. The roster includes Phil Mack, Sean Duke, Sean White, Harry Jones and Connor Braid.

Head Coach John MacMillan promoted competition to determine key positions in order to provide strong practice and motivation for his players. Although winning the coveted MacTier Cup is the main focus on the team’s agenda, the Tyee intends to raise the bar in the CRC and set a new standard for Canadian domestic rugby from coast to coast. Tyee Management called in coaching staff from Seattle, Bayside, Castaway Wanderers, Velox, Rowing Club and The Royal Military College to help with selecting positions and training players. 2011 World Cup Captain Pat Riordan and BC rugby legend Pat Palmer also participated in the selection and development process when the training camp kicked off in early August.

There are a number of hurdles in the Tyee’s pathway to the top spot, however. The team will begin its season with a two game series hosted by Western rivals, the Wolf Pack, at Calgary Rugby Park on August 18 and 25. The Pacific team will also spend most of the season on the road, as only one of the five games scheduled will be played at Bear Mountain Stadium in Langford.

The Tyee believe they have what it takes to dominate the 2012 season. MacMillan and staff emphasized fitness as one of the keys to winning the MacTier Cup. The team held six fitness sessions and had strength and conditioning pegged as major requirements for a top spot on the team. The Tyee intends to outlast their opponents and stay in shape for all 80 minutes of a game, wearing down and capitalizing on opponents.

MacMillan knows that winning the championship will not be an easy battle and as the skill level throughout the entire CRC continues to rise, no team should be taken lightly. Canadian rugby fans will be watching the Pacific Tyee on August 18 to see the team’s debut as they contend for the top spot in Canada’s league.

2012 Pacific Tyee Roster                                                
Name                 (Club)                       Hometown

Nathan Mantle (Burnaby Lake RC) Richmond, BC
Andrew Lackner (Burnaby Lake RC) Pitt Meadows, BC
Evan Mallory (Capilano RC) Vancouver, BC
Cole Racine (James Bay AA) Markham, ON
Micha Govorchin (Burnaby Lake RC) North Delta, BC
Noah Barker (James Bay AA) Courtenay, BC
Aaron Flagg (Abbotsford RFC) Abbotsford, BC
Luke Campbell (UVIC Vikes) Victoria, BC
Will Campbell (UVIC Vikes) Toronto, ON
Anthony Luca (Burnaby Lake RC) Pitt Meadows, BC
Alex Boyd (Maralomas RC) Winnipeg, MB
Scott Mackay (Burnaby Lake RC) North Vancouver, BC
Callum Morrison    (James Bay AA) Victoria, BC
Aaron Goddard (Burnaby Lake RC) Pitt Meadows, BC
Toby Berg (Velox RC) Denman Island, BC
Liam Chisholm (UVIC Vikes) Kenora, ON    
Adam Cejvanovic (Burnaby Lake) Burnabym BC
Jonathan Hill (UBCOB Ravens) Edmonton, AB    
Thyessen de Goede (James Bay AA) Courtenay, BC
Connor Braid (James Bay AA) Victoria, BC
Sean White (James Bay AA) Victoria, BC
Sean Duke (UVIC Vikes) Vancouver, BC
Cody Rockson (Bayside RC) Langley, BC
Cameron Knowles (Richmond RC)    Richmond, BC
Andrew Timler (UVIC Vikes) Victoria, BC
Matt Yanagiya (Capilano RC) North Vancouver, BC
Harry Jones (Capilano RC) Vancouver, BC
Phil Mack (UVIC Vikes) Victoria, BC
Conrad Rybkowski (Abbotsford RFC) Abbotsford, BC
Caleb Hansen (Vancouver Rowing Club) Courtenay, BC
Clayton Meeres (Abbotsford RFC)    Chilliwack, BC
Mike Fuailefau (Castaway Wanderers RC) Victoria, BC
Pat Kay (Cowichan RFC) Duncan, BC
Brodie Henderson (Chilliwack RFC) Chilliwack BC
Bryan Tyree (Meraloma RC) Vancouver, BC

Player Team Points
Cooper Coats 44
Giuseppe De Toit 42
Andrew Ferguson 35
Grant Crowell 25
Sean Ferguson 20
Player Team Tries
Grant Crowell 5
Sean Ferguson 4
Kainoa Lloyd 4
Jake Bentley 3
Dustin Dobravsky 3