Standings | Schedule | Scoring Leaders | Teams | Location Maps | Links | Admin Downloads | Event Info | Tickets | Sponsors | Contact Us | 
Select seasons >>>
   CRC Senior Men:
  There are no stories within the above selected date range.

Tuesday, August 14, 2012 - Submitted by RC Communications
Another exciting season of Canada’s top league is just around the corner as the 2012 Canadian Rugby Championship kicks off later this week.
The season begins on August 18, when the Prairie Wolf Pack host the Pacific Tyee at Calgary Rugby Park and The Ontario Blues will face the Atlantic Rock on August 25 at Oakville Crusaders RFC. This will be the first season The Tyee grace the CRC table, replacing the BC Bears club for the 2012 season.

The regular season continues to grow as each team will play five games this year. The competition is a standard round robin format and the team with the most points at the end of the season takes home the coveted MacTier Cup.

The point structure is a common championship format. Four points are awarded for a win and two for a draw, while a bonus point is awarded for scoring four tries or losing by seven points or less. No points are gained from a loss. The structure and point system makes every game important and this is reflected in the exciting matchups that the CRC is known for.

The standings were tight for all four squads in 2011. The Blues won the MacTier Cup after amassing a 4-1 record, while the other three teams finished at 2-3. Ontario is under pressure this season to defend the Cup and the road will not be an easy, as each of the four teams become stronger and more experienced every year.

In 2011, the CRC implemented the Player of the Year award. Coaches, player coaches and a representative from Rugby Canada voted to determine the recipient of the award. Josefa Dolesau of the BC Bears and Dean Blanks from the Atlantic Rock tied in votes and both players received the title.

The BC Bears won the first ever CRC Championship in 2009 with a 3-0 record. The Atlantic Rock took home the Cup in 2010, also recording a perfect 3-0 campaign. The Prairie Wolf Pack is motivated to take the Championship this year, as they are the only team of the original four who has not finished a season on top. The Blues and The Rock want to be the first team to win the Cup for a second time and will waste no time on the pitch when the season begins. The Pacific Tyee will have the motivation that comes standard with an inaugural rugby season.

The CRC runs from August 18 to September 22, when the MacTier Cup is awarded.

The CRC is one of the most exciting rugby Championships in the world as it continues to grow.  It is one of the major cornerstones for Canada’s National Senior Men’s team and many CRC stars, such as Sean Duke, Nathan Hirayama, Tyler Ardron and Mike Scholz, have flourished internationally as a result of the high-calibre experience gained from playing in Canada’s top league.

League Schedule:
August 18  Pacific Tyee at Prairie Wolf Pack - Calgary Rugby Park
August 25 The Rock at Ontario Blues - Oakville Crusaders RFC
August 25  Pacific Tyee at Prairie Wolf Pack - Calgary Rugby Park
September 1 Pacific Tyee at Ontario Blues - Burlington RFC
September 1 Prairie Wolf Pack at The Rock - Swilers RFC
September 4 Prairie Wolf Pack at Ontario Blues - Oakville Crusaders RFC
September 4 Pacific Tyee at The Rock - Swilers RFC
September 15 Ontario Blues at Pacific Tyee - Bear Mountain Stadium
September 15 The Rock at Prairie Wolf Pack - Calgary Rugby Park
September 22 Ontario Blues at The Rock - Swilers RFC

Support your CRC team and keep track of all the action by visiting

Player Team Points
Cooper Coats 44
Giuseppe De Toit 42
Andrew Ferguson 35
Grant Crowell 25
Sean Ferguson 20
Player Team Tries
Grant Crowell 5
Sean Ferguson 4
Kainoa Lloyd 4
Jake Bentley 3
Dustin Dobravsky 3